Forty Tax Offices Become One Tax Office Austria

PeoplePoliticians ♦ Published: April 10, 2019; 08:00 ♦ (Vindobona)

The structures will be flattened and work processes made more efficient in such a way that 40 authorities will become a single authority with 33 departments at the 79 existing facilities.

Finance Minister Hartwig Löger (left) and State Secretary Hubert Fuchs will submit a concept for the modernisation of the financial administration to parliament for review this week. / Picture: © BMF - Federal Ministry of Finance - Bundesministerium für Finanzen / Wilke / Flickr Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0)

"We want to make our finances fit for the future. That is why we are merging the 40 tax offices that have been in place to date into a nationwide 'Tax Office Austria' and are thus creating regional finance for the citizens, fast finance for the customers, efficient finance for the taxpayers and attractive finance for the employees," said Finance Minister Hartwig Löger.