Article Tools

European Parliament - How are the MEPs in Key Functions Elected?

Published: July 3, 2019; 22:16 · (Vindobona)

At the first plenary session after the European elections, Parliament elects a new President, 14 new Vice-Presidents and five Quaestors. The ninth European Parliament was elected in 2019 elections and is to last until the 2024 elections.

Constitution of the 9th legislature of the European Parliament on July 2, 2019. / Picture: © European Parliament

All elected offices in the European Parliament, i.e. President, Vice-President, Quaestor, Committee Chair and Vice-Chair, and Delegation Chair and Vice-Chair, are renewed every two and half years, so once at the start and once half-way through the 5-year legislative term.

Office-holders can be confirmed for a second mandate.

In electing the President, Vice-Presidents and…

This article includes a total of 696 words.

or Log In

Fast News Search